Sea Spice

Her sacks and bags with foreign tags…

Sea Spice

Surf-zest in her face she pounded in the first stake, for what was meant to be;
a tall round hut of imported spices she would offer to the public at the sea.
Her sacks and bags with foreign tags, laid piled upon the dampening sand,
while her wild hair blowing in the wind, escaped from its multi- colored band.

Passerbys stopped to criticize, to speculate about her choice of place.
They shook their heads, predicting her eventual failure and disgrace.
“Why in the world my dear,” they said, “would you set up shop exactly here?
The waves will take it down, the salty breeze will make your spices disappear.”

Her olive skin did glisten, her strong tan arms arranging, peppered by the briny spray.
She chose to remain silent, and only her large black eyes spoke up, sparkling like midday.
So soon her makeshift hut was done, and jars of spices stood lined up in casual rows,
and the barefoot curious stopped to look, squishing the soft wet sand between their toes.

The names were clearly written on the labels, although no prices could be seen;
ground nutmeg, turmeric, cumin, za’atar, and a tall bottle of rose water in between,
tart and tangy karkadey, sumac and cardamom, cinnamon sticks in honey to suck upon,
whole cloves and ginger root, ground cayenne pepper, curry and red and yellow saffron.

She opened up a jar and scooped a spoonful, holding it out in front of her as if to tease the wind,
and the little grains began to fly, forming a cloud that colored her hair and face as it blew in.
Then she opened others, one after another, until her hair and skin were like an ongoing painting,
that’s when the crowd began to realize, she was not selling spices after all, but instead was entertaining.

The breeze of salty water mixed with cardamom and cinnamon was an aromatic rinse upon her hair,
with full rose-watered lips, she sucked those honey sticks and fluttered dancing hands into the air.
The onlookers grew until they formed a throng now mesmerized, while she perfumed herself in dance,
and there was not one left upon that sunset beach, who was not spiced just right, into her charm-like trance.

Her finale was the offering of the fine- ground residue, flinging it generously upon those gathered there,
the pungent reds and greens and yellows mixed with salty briny gusts, now settled in their hair.
Then pressing cloves into the eager outstretched hands, ginger roots, red petals of  dried karkadey,
she thought, “The waves can have my make-shift stage, as I am all finished for today.”

Colored and stained artistically, abstractly painted by the brush of surf and breeze,
she ambled gracefully down the beach, smelling so exotically like the Middle East. 
Twirling her two bags as if they were scarves, she broke into her own fan-dance ballet,
until her figure finally disappeared into the coastline, for all of those who watched her walk away.

Karima Hoisan
Oct. 10, 2012
LINC Island Renacer SL

 

This entry was posted in Poems, Slices of Second Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sea Spice

  1. Dale Innis says:

    I love the energy, the scene, and the vividness of the idea. A spice-dancer!

  2. LunaelindaBranwen says:

    This is such a lovely set of of images, Kari. What a wonderful idea for such a magical and beautiful scene, filled with flavors, aromas and so “yummy all around.” What a luscious idea, that leaves an indelible imprint on the memory! 🙂

    • Aww Luna thank you so much..Really, this poem was born from a conversation and I actually saw this scene in my mind..If my computer were behaving, I think I would try to make a small machinima out of it. I attempted to convey the visual sense of it through my words..I am happy you saw that, and smelled and tasted too:)

  3. I love your phrase “spice-dancer” I think I want to become one:) Ty for leaving your comment Dale

  4. Spiral Silverstar says:

    This is wonderful, Karima! The images you present are indeed so vivid in my mind’s eye! Perhaps another machinima collab with Nat? :-))

  5. Steve Rogers says:

    Wild crazy smelly colourful stuff! Excellent!

  6. Hoyt Heron says:

    I love this!!! I am in love with the aromatic, salty, briney, breezy, wave-filled scene! I am in love with the wave-zested, olive-skinned, dark-eyed, dark-haired, strong-armed dancer of the sea-side! And… I am in love with the one who conjured up such an exquisite scenario with words whom ever she might be! I wonder how she does it!

  7. Oh Hoyt..what a really great comment..smiling broadly ear to ear. I will let the poet know what you said…next time I see her.. and oh, one time she told me to tell you, you already know…how she got that way:)

  8. Shesa Quandry says:

    Awww!! I’m not sure which I love more… the poem, or Hoyt’s reaction! *big smile*… I WOULD like some nutmeg in my coffee, though! (shakes Karima by the shoulder… holding my cup under her hair) ;o) What a fun vision! The smile appeared after the very first sentence… and only got bigger as I read on. Please paint some more of those scenes for us, sweetheart! The page, your canvas, and those amazing words, your brush. Lets see…. sight sound touch taste and smell… YEP! You got them all! I don’t know hon, a machinima that captures them as wonderfully as your words do, in our minds… would be a real challenge! Thank you Karima! Warm tight hugs ;o)

  9. Aww Shesa thank you so much for your words..Really, I think I will paint a few more poetic all- senses-included scenes…at least try to , as I had such fun with this one..I found some really great music, to read it to..I will do it on my next reading on Halloween inshallah. You know I think you are right, sometimes it’s just better to give the audience a chance to make our “own movies” in our minds. It’s that magic that usually makes a book beat out the movie- version almost every time too. Yes, Hoyt’s comment was soo nice… It is what I love about blog feedback over a “Like” that is the usual response..I treasure all my comments..and yours inspire me onwards my sweet friend..big hugs Shesa

  10. Good morning Karima.
    You painted an image with words. It ‘depicts’ a lust for life which unfortunately is not very common in artistic expression.
    Thank you..

    • Thank you so much Rob, for leaving your comment…yes a “lust for life” indeed! I like your use of that phrase,to describe her unconventional but very alluring moment on a crowded public beach..

Leave a Reply

