For Those Worthy Of It…

respect

left hanging by its deeds

For Those Worthy Of It…
for mia

Earned and secured
not to be taken carelessly
not to be joked about loosely
gained in slow motion
lost in a heart-beat
a lover’s debt to the other paid.

Remembered, cherished
served the first piece
offered the first bite
first to stand up
last to secure all doors at night.

Promises are always paid
and failure to, explained.
Wisdom and position recognized
guidance with compassion
strictness with its tenderness
no hashed over diggings- up of blame.

White-haired sage is owed it
young survivor knows it
culture, passages, and life
will tell you who receives it
contrarily, who bestows it.

Good to give and get it,
never to be overlooked
honored in the subtle ways
not ever made to wonder or to wait.
Respect; the admirer’s wordless garland
left hanging by its deeds, upon a worthy’ s gate.

Karima Hoisan
April 24, 2013
Costa Rica

*Inspired by someone asking me, my definition of respect

This entry was posted in Poems, Slices of Second Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to For Those Worthy Of It…

  1. Maria Vought says:

    Loved this poem sis. It is restrained and elegant – and heartfelt in a way which makes me feel oddly humble somehow, if that makes any sense at all!

  2. Hoyt Heron says:

    I can’t believe it!!!! How do you do this??!! This totally sums up respect! This should be hanging in people’s homes. Maria says it perfectly..”Restrained and elegant.” I love this!

  3. Aww Hoyt, another who seems to get my slightly strange ways of seeing things, and I am so glad you do. You made me smile again, and be always grateful for your support and your “sintonia”
    tu ruca

  4. Dale Innis says:

    Wow, humbling indeed! Makes me think of all sorts of cultures that I admire and don’t know as well as I’d like to. Maybe the Zen master and his students. 🙂 Thank you for this, as always!

  5. Thank you so much Dale for your active and loyal support of my poetry. It means a lot to me.

Leave a Reply

