“Chasing a Butterfly” by Natascha Randt & Karima Hoisan- for MachinimUWA Vlll: Pursue Impossible

Poster by Natascha Randt

Poster by Natascha Randt

Never say “Never!”
I told Nat before the contest was even officially opened, that I thought I could not collaborate on a movie this year, for several reasons. I encouraged her to do her own, one she had been thinking about focusing on women in aviation (I hope to see her idea about this theme realized at some time in the future:) but as fate would have it..Here we are again.
I told a little “fairy-tale” to a small group of friends who gathered earlier to see a sneak preview of our entry, “Chasing a Butterfly” for this year’s UWA  Art and Machinima challenge: Pursue Impossible. I will retell it again here too:)
Once upon a time there was a little talented donkey. She roamed the hills and rivers free, doing whatever she wanted to do.. but one day about 4 years ago..a “Donkey Whisperer” entered her life..and found that if she held up the very perfect carrot in front of that little donkey’s nose..the donkey would walk.. in the same direction the whisperer was walking..and they could exchange ideas.. and brainstorm while thunder and lightning filled the sky from all that brainstorming..and it was like magic how they worked together and made movie after movie together. Even when the donkey changed into the Queen of England, and bossed, directed and gave everyone orders..there was always a harmony in the air and an understanding that made it possible for them to surmount any real problems or misunderstandings and so….they finished their 17th film together…something very different that they hope you will all enjoy.
We proudly present “Chasing a Butterfly,” enjoy it and let us know if you did please, both here and on YouTube. Comments are like sincere hugs for us..
P.S. The Donkey-Queen says : “Must be viewed in HD 1080 and full screen for the best viewing experience:)

“Fog Rolls In”
(movie version)

Fog rolls in but my head is clear
like being wrapped around you in a folding chair.
I’ll to try to make the best things come true
Because it’s too hard … saying goodbye to you.

With a will there’s a way… so I want to believe
in possibilities that we can’t perceive.
I won’t stop trying ’til I see you once more
because the power of love we should never ignore.

But all that vitamin B taken so faithfully
rituals and sleeping through reality,
I’m still alone on that magic shore
waiting for your aura in the open door.

Don’t tell me two in a dream space is a lie
because… impossible for me is just a lullaby.

Don’t tell me two in a dream… it’s just a lie
because impossible for me is a butterfly.

I will and you will and we will finally see
we wrested a moment from night’s eternity.

Dreaming about you is not enough
So I’m about to call sleep’s stubborn bluff.
Time’s running away but I won’t give in
until we make that lucid dream begin.

Fog rolls in but my head is clear
,
wrapped around you in a folding chair
.
Oh I know how to make the best things come true
,
it’s lucid dreaming time with you.

We can do it too…close your eyes
and come to me…while I’m coming to you
Because…..impossible for me..is just a butterfly.

Karima Hoisan
August 25, 2015
LINC Island SL

This entry was posted in Announcements, General Discussion, Machinima and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to “Chasing a Butterfly” by Natascha Randt & Karima Hoisan- for MachinimUWA Vlll: Pursue Impossible

  1. joeysl says:

    This is so beautiful and inspiring, the music, the poem, the film – I have been watching again and again and will many more times, I am sure 🙂 Keeping my fingers crossed for you both, too. GO TEAM, GO! 🙂

    Like

    • Ohh Thank you Joey for this comment..I treasure it! I want to say that without your expertise piloting and take-off skills, one of our most poignant scenes in the beginning, would not have been possible!
      Thank you too for your enthusiasm with what we do as The Team and your unconditional support of us. I am happy to “share” Tante Nat with you, and enjoy the wonderful sci-fi projects you create together! So glad we are neighbors too:)

      Like

  2. Pingback: THE TEAM: Chasing A Butterfly | Joeys Café

  3. Pingback: UWA time again! | Dale Innis's Weblog

  4. I want to point my readers to a great post by Joey and some pictures of our little mini-preview yesterday!
    https://joeysl.wordpress.com/2015/10/18/1328/

    Like

  5. Pingback: Chasing A Butterfly by Natascha Randt and Karima Hoisan | aetherisavidi

  6. Nat wrote a great post in German, with pictures and everything! The Google translation can be pretty funny at times e.g. they translated my name as “Tooth Decay” :):) but it’s a great post with more insight into the making of our film. Enjoy it here!

    Chasing A Butterfly by Natascha Randt and Karima Hoisan

    Like

  7. daleinnis says:

    Wonderful, as ever! “The difficult we do immediately, the impossible takes slightly longer.” 🙂 A lovely attitude toward life. And so evocatively rendered.

    I love the retro feel, the grain of the entire thing. And that poster! And machine! And of course your voice; finally singing for us!

    Like

  8. From Kravs who asked me to post this for her:)
    “Poetesses  Priestesses  Performers Transformers

    You, Karima.  You, Natascha.  From the hundreds of  cocoons you spin, you emerge in brilliant hue;  never the same yet always winged.  Ah, you are the spinner and the butterfly, earth and dream.  That, to me, is the common theme throughout everything you create with your unique voice and spirit.

    You’re taking the journey on for everyone–thank you”

    Like

  9. Thank you dear friend from 10 lifetimes:) How it makes me happy you loved our film!!

    Like

  10. Hoyt Heron says:

    Karima and Natascha, pioneers in modern media, have done it again. This is a great piece of work. Congratulations! A long distance relationship, depicted by two collaborators from long distance. Not so easy. A lot of work, creative exchange, with a bit of magic thrown in. And again, from worlds apart. Karima’s music, lyrics, and lovely voice mixed with Nat’s genius for cinematography, make for yet another fine film yet again by two creative minds!

    Like

    • Hoyt, thank you for this comment always so positive and well thought out for what we do. People like you, are who make us want to keep creating, not for a position in a film festival,but for joy and appreciation in our friends..Both Nat and I value and recognize people like yourself. who have been with us all the way..Thank you again Hoyt..even though we are a little far apart too, your acceptance and delight shine through:)

      Like

  11. Maria Vought says:

    Wow you two, I am running out of superlatives for your art – this was a beautiful, a visual feast and the words and music were stunning. The three together have melded to become a masterpiece.
    It’s optimistic, moving, warming and inspiring – thank you for creating and sharing it with us.

    Like

  12. Pingback: WaterMoon Breeze: stuff and scenery! | Dale Innis's Weblog

  13. Pingback: The UWA Awards Sunday-6amslt-Join Us! | Digital Rabbit Hole

Leave a comment