Rob Steenhorst’s Art Book-Sporting Life

This seems to be my week of “Show and Tell.” 🙂
I don’t mean to be blowing my own horn too loudly, just as luck would have it, two collaborations that I was lucky enough to be part of, were presented to me in the last few days.

I received a beautiful copy of Rob Steenhorst’s book, in the mail, of CGI images that span 20 years of his art from 1998-2016. It is the perfect coffee table book, so that is where I put it, after I read the excellent foreword and the interesting miscellaneous offerings at the end, inspired by various, writers, thinkers and even a machinima maker, I took my time and poured through the excellent imagery; there is so much to see in each, so many subtle details.
IMG_3949

Six of my poems are included alongside thumbnails of the images that inspired each one. I am honored and so pleased to be part of this beautiful book, that chronicles the art of one of my favorite artists, both personally and artistically. Rob’s dedication on the first page, is something I will always cherish.
IMG_3938
Rob helped me to become a better and more intuitive Ekphrastic poet, one who is stimulated into poetry by visual imagery. Not all paintings do this to me, but in Rob Steenhorst’s case, there were 5 of his paintings that haunted me, until I could express what they made me feel, through poetry. He has included these at the end of his book and one more that was a personal gift, that I wrote just for him.
IMG_3958
I am including below, how you can purchase this book, and I can tell you that it is indeed worth having in your collection. Thank you Rob, for including me, and thank you for sharing your unique talent with all of us in Second Life (as Rob Barber) and with the world!

Information about the book

Title: Rob Steenhorst
Dartel Leven | Sporting Life
Computer Generated Images (CGI)
1998 – 2016

Size: A4 21 x 29,7 cm | 8,27 x 11,69 Inch
Landscape
122 pages. incl cover
Soft touch cover
Texts by o.a. Michael van Hoogenhuyze, Art Historian, and 6 poems by Karima Hoisan, Poet
95 images from which, 64 are original artworks

Price: € 25,– | $ 26.58 (depending on change rates) excluding delivery

Delivery rates: Netherlands: € € 3,90 | $ 4.15
Europe 1 : € 9,31 | $ 9.90
Europe 2 : € 11,97 | $ 12.72
World : € 14,63 | $ 15.55

Payment through Pay Pal: robsteenhorst@zocher1.nl

Please don’t forget to include the delivery address when ordering!

Depending on distance it may take up to a maximum of 10 workday’s before receiving
IMG_3953
I will also include the beautiful machinima by Iono Allen. I read one of these poems in it, and you will have a chance to see many of his paintings, that are included in the book too.

This entry was posted in Announcements, General Discussion, Poems, Slices of Second Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Rob Steenhorst’s Art Book-Sporting Life

  1. daleinnis says:

    How exciting! 🙂 Love seeing your work slipping out into the atomic world…

    Like

  2. Amira says:

    Oooo, fantastic! I love it! I’m ordering one… maybe two. I need more coffee tables. I wonder if I can get a bulk discount :)))

    Like

  3. Amiata says:

    Another stunning collaboration of talent and vision!

    Like

  4. ronald174 says:

    Incredible work-both of you! In Sea Swell the graphics and tone simply blended together as one continuous work. Just seamlessly! I hope this will bring some recognition to both of you amazing artists. I have long been fascinated by the painting of the man and 2 kids and birds in the park. Has a very haunting quality to it. As does all his work. I look forward to more collaboration effort! This where your unique and powerful voice gives a current everything else rides on. Good luck for you both!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Ron, for your comment. As a visitor to my gallery in SL, I know you are familiar with Rob’s work.. That one is also a favorite of mine, and yes it seems so much more is going on then we can actually see. It’s like the moment is captured while in movement..and we can only ponder where it might lead when it starts into motion again. Thank you for your best wishes too Ron…means a lot:)

      Like

  5. Pingback: Karima Hoisan Reading at Aux Bains du Paradis- Sat.- July 8th-12 noonSlt | Digital Rabbit Hole

  6. Steve Rogers says:

    That machinima is an unusual combination of poetry and art exhibition! Quite spooky and mysterious, with the Ken Burns pan and zoom on the artwork, the forward zoom into the gallery, and the lapping waves the only movements in a deserted space.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment